Daily Call to Action: Please call or write to help Beagles in Maryland!

The Maryland Beagle Freedom Bill has two hearings coming up and your voice is needed now! The Chairs of the Committee MUST hear from you as they have been preventing this bill that has broad bi-partisan support from leaving the committee for 4 years!!

Adoption of Companion Animals Used in Research (HB 732/ SB 675): Federal law regulates the care and use of research animals while they are in the laboratory, but does not offer protection to the animal once the research project ends, many of the animals are euthanized. Sponsored by Del. Kramer (D-19) and Sen. Hough (R-4), the bill addresses this deficiency by affording dogs and cats an opportunity to live out their lives in loving homes once the research is complete. The bill would have no impact on the type or duration of the research itself. If the animals do not have to be euthanized at the end of the tests and are healthy enough, these dogs and cats may be adopted out through non-profit animal shelter and rescue organizations willing to take the animals. This will be the fourth year for this bill to be introduced as a result of the strong opposition from Maryland’s research institutions, being led by Johns Hopkins University and the University of Maryland. We need to make this the year this legislation passes.

Your calls and emails to these Maryland legislators is critical to advance this life-saving law!

The Humane Adoption of Companion Animals Used in Research Act, HB 732/SB 675, sponsored by Delegate Ben Kramer and Senator Michael Hough, will give dogs and cats in research an opportunity to find a forever home after the experiments have ended. Six states have already passed this important law, and momentum is building in Maryland thanks to our tenacious sponsors and all your hard work. Together, let’s make Maryland the seventh!

Committee Hearing for SB 675

Next Tuesday, February 27, a hearing is scheduled for SB 675 in the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee. Please contact the committee and urge their support for this sensible, life-saving animal protection law to give healthy animals used in research a life after the laboratory.

All it takes is a short message; let them know you are a Maryland resident and ask them to support The Humane Adoption of Companion Animals Used in Research Act, SB 675 to give dogs and cats a chance for life after their time in the lab is complete.

ACTION: Feel free to contact everyone on the committees, but please be sure to contact the Chairs and Vice Chairs:

Senator Joan Carter Conway, Chair, joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-314

Senator. Paul Pinsky, Vice-Chair, paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3155

Rep. Maggie McIntosh, Chair, maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us, 410-323-4052

Rep. Tawanna Gaines, Vice Chair, tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us,  410-841-3058

To. write. To everyone:

Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee

Joan Carter Conway, Chair, joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3145

Paul Pinsky, Vice-Chair, paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3155

Gail Bates, gail.bates@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3671

Cheryl Kagan, cheryl.kagan@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3671

Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, shirley.nathan.pulliam@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3612

Barbara Robinson, barbara.robinson@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3656

Johnny Ray Salling, johnnyray.salling@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3587

Bryan Simonaire, bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3658

Stephen Waugh, steve.waugh@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3673

Ronald Young, ronald.young@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3575

Craig Zucker, craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3625

To easily send one email to entire committee, cut and paste email block below:

joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us; paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us; gail.bates@senate.state.md.us; cheryl.kagan@senate.state.md.us; shirley.nathan.pulliam@senate.state.md.us; barbara.robinson@senate.state.md.us; johnnyray.salling@senate.state.md.us; bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us; steve.waugh@senate.state.md.us; ronald.young@senate.state.md.us; craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us

Committee Hearing for HB 732

On March 13, a hearing is scheduled for HB 732 in the Appropriations Committee.

Your voice is crucial, and again, a short message is all it takes; Let legislators know you reside in the state and urge them to support The Humane Adoption of Companion Animals Used in Research Act, HB 732, to give healthy animals used in research the love and life they deserve when the experiments have ended.

RSVP by replying to this email if you are considering joining us at the Capitol so we can get you the details you need to make it productive for the animals.

House Appropriations Committee

Rep. Maggie McIntosh, Chair, maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us, 410-323-4052

Rep. Tawanna Gaines, Vice Chair, tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us,  410-841-3058

Rep. Ben Barnes, ben.barnes@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3046

Rep. Wendell Beitzel, wendell.beitzel@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3435

Rep. Mary Beth Carozza, MaryBeth.Carozza@house.state.md.us, 301-858-3356

Rep. Mark Chang, Mark.Chang@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3511

Rep. Barrie Ciliberti, Barrie.Ciliberti@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3080

Rep. Jefferson Ghrist, Jeff.Ghrist@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3555

Rep. Robin Grammer Jr., Robin.Grammer@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3298

Rep. Ana Sol Gutierrez, ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3181

Rep. Keith Haynes, keith.haynes@house.state.md.us, 410-837-6189

Rep. Shelly Hettleman, Shelly.Hettleman@house.state.md.us,  410-841-3833

Rep. Michael Jackson, Michael.Jackson@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3103

Rep. Adrienne Jones, adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us, 410-655-3090

Rep. Marc Korman, Marc.Korman@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3649

Rep. Carol Krimm, Carol.Krimm@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3472

Rep. Clarence Lam, Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3205

Rep. Brooke Lieman, Brooke.Lierman@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3319

Rep. Tony McConkey, tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3406

Rep. Mike McKay, Mike.McKay@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3321

Rep. Aruna Miller, aruna.miller@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3090

Rep. Krill Reznik,  kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3039

Rep. Theodore Sophocleus, ted.sophocleus@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3372

Rep. Geraldine Valentino-Smith, geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3101

Rep. David Vogt III, david.vogt@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3118

Rep. Pat Young, pat.young@house.state.md.us, 410-841-3544

To easily send one email to entire committee, cut and paste email block below:

maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us, tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us, ben.barnes@house.state.md.us, wendell.beitzel@house.state.md.us, MaryBeth.Carozza@house.state.md.us, Mark.Chang@house.state.md.us, Barrie.Ciliberti@house.state.md.us, Jeff.Ghrist@house.state.md.us, Robin.Grammer@house.state.md.us, ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us, keith.haynes@house.state.md.us, Shelly.Hettleman@house.state.md.us, Michael.Jackson@house.state.md.us, adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us, Marc.Korman@house.state.md.us, Carol.Krimm@house.state.md.us, Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us, Brooke.Lierman@house.state.md.us, tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us, Mike.McKay@house.state.md.us, aruna.miller@house.state.md.us, kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us, ted.sophocleus@house.state.md.us, geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us, david.vogt@house.state.md.us, pat.young@house.state.md.us

Every call, every email and every visit to the capitol brings this bill one step closer to passing.

WISE would love to hear from you.....

%d bloggers like this: