URGENT Action needed by 11am TODAY for affordable prescriptions!

The WISE Healthcare Huddle needs your help ASAP!!! – The Health Facilities & Pharmaceuticals Subcommittee of the House Health and Government Operations Committee will be meeting today at 11am in the main committee room to vote on an amended version of HB 1194. The amendments, proposed by our lead sponsor Joseline Peña-Melnyk, would create a Drug Cost Commission to collect information about high drug prices and report back to the General Assembly about how to make prescription drugs more affordable in Maryland. We would have preferred to give this Commission the powers set forth in our original bill to set rates for high cost drugs, but we are pleased that the amended bill will continue to move this issue fowward for future General Assembly Sessions. Please call and email members of the Subcommittee as soon as possible to urge them to support the amended bill and oppose weakening changes from the drug corporations.  Delegate Saab is a key member of this subcommitte.

The list of subcommittee members is as follows (cosponsors are noted):

Eric M. Bromwell, Vice-Chair

District 8 – Baltimore County-Rm 241

Phone: (410) 841-3766

Email: eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us

Angel M. Angel

District 25 – Prince George’s County-Rm 216

Phone: (410) 841-3707

Email: angela.angel@house.state.md.us

(Co-Sponsor) Antonio L. Hayes 

District 40 – Baltimore City-Rm 315

Phone: (410) 841-3545

Email: antonio.hayes@house.state.md.us

(Co-Sponsor) Terri L. Hill 

District 12 – Baltimore County & Howard County-Rm 215

Phone: (410) 841-3378

Email: terri.hill@house.state.md.us

(Co-Sponsor) Ariana B. Kelly 

District 16 – Montgomery County-Rm 210

Phone: (410) 841-3642

Email: ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

Nicholaus R. Kipke

District 31B – Anne Arundel County-Rm 212

Phone: (410) 841-3421

Email: nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

Susan W. Krebs 

District 5 – Carroll County Rm 324

Phone: (410) 841-3200

Email: susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

Sid A. Saab

District 33 – Anne Arundel County-Rm 157

Phone: (410) 841-3551

Email: sid.saab@house.state.md.us

Christopher R. West

District 42B – Baltimore County-Rm 303

Phone: (410) 841-3793

Email: chris.west@house.state.md.us


(Co-Sponsor) Karen Lewis Young

District 3A – Frederick County-Rm 416

Phone: (410) 841-3436

Email: karen.young@house.state.md.us

WISE would love to hear from you.....

%d bloggers like this: