Daily Call to Action: NO tethering dogs in AA County! Please contact your county councilman to support this Bill!

The Anne Arundel County Council had a hearing last Monday for legislation introduced by Councilman Grasso to ban all unsupervised tethering (supervised is defined as the dog being under direct observation, e.g. someone is outside with the dog), ban tethering during extreme weather and create stronger requirements for what constitutes outdoor shelter.  The final vote on the bill is scheduled for Monday, June 18, so if you live in Anne Arundel County, please let your councilmember know you support Bill No. 50-18!

District Name Email Phone

1 Peter Smith peter.smith@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

2 John Grasso john.grasso@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

3 Derek Fink dfink@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

4 Andrew Pruski andrew.pruski@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

5 Michael Peroutka michael.peroutka@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

6 Chris Trumbauer ctrumbauer@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

7 Jerry Walker jerry.walker@aacounty.org 410-222-1401

From the Humane Society:

Why is tethering bad for dogs?
Dogs are naturally social beings who need interaction with humans and/or other animals. Intensive confinement or long-term restraint can severely damage their physical and psychological well-being. An otherwise friendly and docile dog, when kept continuously chained or intensively confined in any way, becomes neurotic, unhappy, anxious and often aggressive.
It is common for continuously tethered dogs to endure physical ailments as a result of being continuously tethered. Their necks can become raw and sore, and their collars can painfully grow into their skin. They are vulnerable to insect bites and parasites, and are at high risk of entanglement, strangulation, and harassment or attacks by other dogs or people.
Tethered dogs may also suffer from irregular feedings, overturned water bowls, inadequate veterinary care and extreme temperatures. During snow storms, these dogs often have no access to shelter. During periods of extreme heat, they may not receive adequate water or protection from the sun. Owners who chain their dogs are less likely to clean the area of confinement, causing the dogs to eat and sleep in an area contaminated with urine and feces. What’s more, because their often neurotic behavior makes them difficult to approach, chained dogs are rarely given even minimal affection. Tethered dogs may become “part of the scenery” and can be easily ignored by their owners.

WISE would love to hear from you.....

%d bloggers like this: