Men in Maryland have 9 PreRelease Centers, Women have 0. This is a call to all women to Raise your voices for justice!

This bill which will provide ONE PreRelease center for women while men have 9 is just sitting in committee!  We need to call the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the committees where the bill is just sitting and tell them it must be brought to a vote and women deserve better!  To find out more about a women’s prerelease center, click here.

Additionally, we need you to call every member of the Senate Judiciary Committee and explain that we are not asking you to vote to spend 80.5 million on a new building; other options exist, which include a separate facility on the campus of the Maryland Correctional Institute for Women or the previous building that housed the pre-release center several years ago before it closed. The bill died in the Senate after testimony from the warden of the Maryland Correctional Institute for women after she said the pre-release center would cost 80.5 million to build.

We need women to advocate for women!  Please make this your good deed of the day!  You can tell them how unfair it is, how women deserve better and as women we are calling telling them to move the bill and to do the right thing.

The Bill in the House when you call Busch and Clippinger HB0715 – Correctional Services – Prerelease Unit for Women – Requirement to Operate (Requires the state to open and operate a prerelease unit for women. Sponsor: Del. Crutchfield) and the bill in the Senate when you call Miller and Zirkin SB0419 – Correctional Services – Prerelease Unit for Women – Requirement to Operate (Requires the state to open and operate a prerelease unit for women. Sponsor: Sen. Washington) need a push.

Phone numbers and email addresses for each legislator are below.  Please call each one

Senate

For SB0419 – Mike Miller  –  Thomas.v.miller@senate.state.md.us ,  410-841-3700

Bobby Zirkin, Chair Senate Judiciary – bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us   410-841-3131

William Smith, Jr. (VC Senate Judiciary) – will.smith@senate.state.md.us – 410-841-3634

House

For HB0715 -Michael E. Busch–  michael.busch@house.state.md.us410-841-3800

Luke Clippinger (Chair of House Judiciary) –luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us  410-841-3303

Vanessa Atterbeary (VC of House Juciciary) – vanessa.atterbeary@house.state.md.us – 410-841-3471

Members of Senate Judiciary

Jill Carter – jill.carter@senate.state.md.us -410-841-3697

Robert Cassilly – bob.cassilly@senate.state.md.us- 410-841-3158

Katie Hester – katiefry.hester@senate.state.md.us- 410-841-3671

Michael Hough – michael.hough @senate.state.md.us- 410-841-3704

Susan Lee – susan.lee @senate.state.md.us-410-841-3124

Justin Ready – justin.ready @senate.state.md.us-410-841-3683

Jeff Waldstreicherjeff.waldstreicher @senate.state.md.us-410-841-3137

Mary Washington (Senate Sponsor)-mary.washington@senate.state.md.us-410-8413145

Chris West -chris.west@senate.state.md.us-410-841-3648

%d bloggers like this: